Domestic machine quilting

I hope this isn't taboo here...........

I took a machine quilting class with my Bernina (Virty) last Sunday, and it sure was an eye-opener. I am not good at all at free-motion quilting, so that is a little discouraging. But everybody says with practice I can do well, so I'm practicing. The funny thing to me is, even though close up the teacher's stitches (she used mine to demo "drunken slug meandering" - i.e., stippling) are, of course, fabulous and mine are scarey, from a normal distance the sampler looks great!

Are there any other domestic machine quilters here, or previous dom's? Would love to here your experiences with how long it took to get to where your conscience would let you give something away that you had quilted on your machine, etc.

Patty I started quiting on my domestic about 8 years ago. At first it was the stitches that were the problem.................keeping them uniform. I do have to say the PPP makes perfect. I also suggest you try drawing your designs on paper over and over and then do more PPP on the machine.

I do not do much quiltng on my domestic any more and will occasionaly do some feed dogs up presser foot down on small things for myself. I am however doing some stuff on my current customer project on my domestic. It is a balloon quilt and I am doing the detail of the balloons on my little machine.................do not want any wobbles and there are lots of layers in the applique. No way I will try those layers on the longarm..........................I finished the background and took it off my longarm last night.

Patty,