thread

I'm new to this and have a question. Is there a formula for buying thread. How do you know how much to buy for a project. I have a California King quilt top to quilt and am doing a pantograph called "Wild at Heart". It seems to echo the heart 3 to 5 times.

Just wanted to know if there was some type of formula for thread amount. The one she has picked is Sew Fine Aster which has 3280 yards on it. At this point, that sounds like a lot of thread but I don't have a concept of it yet.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks

Debbie Z

Hi Debbie,

I honestly don't know of a formula - have only run out once and Superior sent my cone right away. I do keep on hand extras of the basics: white, black, beige, etc. I do buy cones and not spools. Where in Oregon are you. You might find a shop that carries the threads near you. I know Bayside in Olympia & the Quilt Barn in Pullayup (my area) both carrier Superior so you might find someplace and then you wouldn't have to worry. Sorry I couldn't be of more help...................

I'm in Portland. I was just hoping I wouldn't run out and have to leave the quilt on the machine, waiting for another cone. I think I will order 2, one for machine and one for bobbin and go from there. I just thought that all the experts might have an idea of how to plan for thread.

Thanks Meg

Debbie

Debbie, I think you have plenty of thread there to make it thru a King Size.. I've used 500 yards on a double, and one sparsely quilted queen, with some left over. What was left over was used on an odd project with no quilt shapes to measure it to.

You Will quickly learn as you quilt, and sooon be able to guess pretty close to what you need.

Enjoy, and Keep stitching.

ritaR

Hi Debbie,

Your cone of SewFine will be plenty to quilt a King size--including the bobbins.