Tinnitus

Well quilting friends, I have developed Tinnitus, which is damage to the inner ears from prolonged exposure to loud noises causing ringing, pain, and even hearing loss. People usually get it who work with loud engines or from shooting guns, etc.

The only loud thing I ever do is quilt so I'm assuming that's what has caused it. It's been 6 years of quilting almost every day -- that's a lot of noise, I guess!!

I'm just sending out a warning to others to consider wearing ear protection when you quilt. It can't hurt, and it may prevent this from happening to you. I will be doing it now for sure. Don't want it to get any worse!

Happy Quilting!!

Absolutely right, Rita. I developed mine after close to 30 years of court proceedings. No, the judge wasn't yelling....well, not very often....I worked as a court clerk/court reporter and had earphones in my ears daily. Now my ears ring all the time, sounds like a room full of baby chicks, is my best explanation of the sound. I never thought about Millie being too loud, but a "heads-up" to be careful is great. Take care of yourself Tori, hope the sound in your ears isn't too disturbing. :cool:

My husband always is after me to wear ear protection while I am quilting. I don't like ear plugs, so I tried his ear muffs he uses for mowing, chain sawing, etc. They actually do help and for some reason I don't get tired as quickly when I quilt. I hate to admit he is right, BUT...;)

Good subject here. So, does the same condition develop if we wear headphones to listen to music or TV while we quilt or sew? Or would it be related to the volume running through the headphones? I use some wireless headphones when I have my machines going so I can still hear the show or music without blasting it throughout the house, and I can turn the sound down to nothing on the TV but still hear through the headphones because they have a volume control.