Please help!

Hello everyone. 

I'm still quite new to longarm quilting and I have a Lucey.  I am trying to do some dense quilting on a particular quilt.......I decided to use "Bottom Line" for the top thread as well as the bobbin thread.  Any time I speed up a little....my top thread comes out!  I've tried tightening the top.....loosening the top.....tightening the bobbin...loosening the bobbin.....

I'm stumped.  I'm also thinking that with all the fiddling around I have done, I've forgotten what's loose and what's tight!!!!

Can anyone help???!!!  With such thin thread, should my top tension be tight or loose????

I'm confused!

thanks

Did you try changing the needle and loosening your sandwich?

I'd use a 3.5 needle for bottom line. But I doubt that's what causing the breaking thread.

After it breaks, take the thread and retread it thru the guides so you can see exactly where it's breaking.

I had almost exactly the same nightmare on my first or second quilt on my Millie.  Like Chris, I was all over the place with the tension.

Yes, you need to drop the needle size down to a 3.5 or 3.0 - maybe the latter since this is such a thin thread.

Don't even try sewing on the quilt until you have the tension corrected.  If your machine came with a pack of Superior Thread, it may have come with a booklet on the various threads.  In the old days (2009), the back of the booklet had a great discussion on tension and the correct needle size to use for each of its threads.  Dawn has also written on setting tenstion.  Move the machine off to the side and practice on a sandwhich which you move manually under the needle.  Don't worry about whether the stitches are large or small - look at the front and back of the piece to make sure that the tension looks good.  I'll see if I can find Dawn's post to give you more guidance.

FYI, dropping the needle size fixed my problem on that quilt.  I haven't used Bottom Line as a top thread since.

Lynn

Hi Hockeymom,