Where to start???

I have been quilting mainly pantos for the last several years.  I am READY to move to the front of the machine but not sure where to start.  How do you all decide exactly what design to use.  I have several tops that I have ready to practice on.  Have been drawing on paper but nothing is really seeming to mesh.......Thanks.

Use graph paper to draft common blocks--like a Log Cabin, pinwheel, nine patch, variable star--or the exact ones that are in your tops you have ready to quilt. Do a sheet of paper full of each block design and then make copies to practice on. 

Practice CCs. Figure how to travel from one block to the next and back again to the beginning. There are many tutorials for CC pathways on many quilting blogs and web sites. You'll soon get the hang of it.

CCs--continuous curves--are really the backbone of most longarm quilting of samplers and other repeated-block patterns. Once you are comfortable with the pathway you can learn to embellish the CCs to make each block special.

Log Cabin blocks can be practiced on with feathers or other running designs that stay on one side of the block.

You can then use lined paper to lay out various widths of sashings and borders to practice feathers or other fills. You can get a feel for turning the corners and what works best for your skill level--like, do you want to turn the border corner with the feathers or end them and place another motif in the corner like a cornerstone?

Once you've practiced the exact block you have in front of you, take a water-soluble or air-erase pen and mark the same lines on the blocks. Using your drawn lines to make stitched lines will be easy--especially with your panto skills--following the line and  stitching smooth curves.

Good luck and please know you can do this!  :)