T- shirt quilt help

I have been asked to make and quilt a t-shirt quilt.  I have never done one before, I know from reading on here that I have to stabilize the t-shirts but have no clue what to use or how do I stabilize where it is printed if I can't iron that. 

Does this make the blocks really stiff? 

Then is there anything I need to do to anything special to put it on the machine for finishing? 

Thanks for the help.

I've made a couple of T-shirt quilts, and they are a lot of fun!  "T-Shirt Quilts Made Easy" by Martha DeLeonardis was a great resource.  She recommends using 911FF Pellon Fusible Featherweight interfacing, and I found that it did not make the shirts too stiff.  I used my Teflon pressing sheets a lot, both under the T-shirt designs when I was ironing the interfacing on the back, and when I was pressing seams, etc. from the front.

I don't recall doing anything special for the loading the quilts on Emmeline.  I used Superior Monopoly on the top, and maybe Bottomline in the bobbin, and took it a bit slow.

post-5510-0-78232300-1390740762_thumb.jpg

post-5510-0-14222800-1390740964_thumb.jpg

I used the 911FF interfacing too. When i press the interfacing to the back of the tshirt, i lightly spray the sandwich with water and use a dry iron. I find it "melts" together better at a lower heat setting on the iron. I dont have teflon sheets (the preferred pressing tool), i just use a square of 100% cotton as a pressing sheet to keep anything from coloring my ironing board or sticking to my iron.

I use a teflon pressing sheet both below the shirt and above to protect my iron and my surfaces. I use cheap lightweight non-woven fusible interfacing. I chop off the back and the sleeves but leave the shirt big and only trim it up after applying the interfacing. I actually got a big heat press to use for t-shirt quilts as I make so many of them and I was tired of how long it took to apply the interfacing. Now I can do it in 13 seconds per shirt!