Echo Quilting

pfrost

Ok folks. Need some help. Have my first custom job & the client is asking for echo quilting--not my forte at this point of the game--around a silhoutted elk in the very center of a wallhanging. Naturally, every little bobble will show.

I've practiced & practiced all day today & don't feel that the technique looks any better tonight than when I started practicing this morning. I've tried it freehand, as well as with the Accu-guide. (My hands ache from trying to hold the Accu-guide secure & steady.:() I understand the concept of practice, but shouldn't there be some improvement after a day's worth of effort? Anyone have suggestions to make this technique easier or more successful?

Thanks for your help...tomorrow's another day.

Pat

AZ:cool:

Mille

Pat,

I wish I could come over and rub your hands with ointment!

Here are a few tips to try (do it first on your practice piece):

[*] turn off your stitch regulator, and set the machine for a medium-fast speed--if you are used to looking at your stitch length indicator for both manual and regulated mode, then set the indicator for somewhere around 13 or so.

[*] Secure your threads to begin, and clip the tails. Now turn on the machine without the regulator and start quilting a spiral, using your foot as your guide. Continue spiraling outward, aligning the edge of the foot with the line you previously quilted. Don\'t worry about a few bobbles. Concentrate on looking AHEAD of where you want to be, not where you are AT.

[*] Try spiraling both in a clockwise and counterclockwise direction. You will find that one "feels" better than the other (each of us is different--so go in the direction that feels right to you).

After doing several spirals, try drawing a few simple shapes on to your practice piece. Try a heart, triangle, leaf, square, and just a jagged shape. Spiral around these as well.