Sewers Aid

I have been longarming for nearly nine years and have never found the need for any of this stuff. What sorts of thread problems are you having that are tempting you to use this? I know Sharon Schamber uses the mineral oil and, yes, I think she dunks her threads in them. I love Sharon, think she's a rock star, but I just can't see it. Maybe I can help you avoid using the stuff. Let me know what issues you're having.

I think it depends on the humidity in your area. When you have 25% humidity, you get a lot of static and Sewer's Aid helps. In a more humid climate, you may never need it. Silicone thread lube is used in commercial applications all the time. It doesn't stain and cuts down on friction. Sharon Schamber wins major quilt competitions all the time, so I suspect she is doing something right. If you want to try the mineral oil, try it on a partial spool of thread in a color you aren't wild about....give it a whirl on a practice piece, let it sit overnight, and see if it works for you without staining. You have a $5 investment in something that may solve your problems...or not. Either way, you aren't out much.

I have a little box on the side of my machine just under the thread path that you can put sewers aid on the little pads and your thread runs between the pads. Don't know where to get the itemm because when I bought the machine used she had it on there already. I do use it and like how the thread travels better but have also not used it and have not had any real issues but do notice less fuze form thread.

I sewed in a Lands End luggage factory years ago, and we used sewers aid type thread lube all the time. The machines either had a little container on top with the stuff in it that the thread went through, or you dunked the whole cone in the stuff.