Insurance

Barb's 'freaking out' post and one of the replies to her has me thinking about insurance again. Insurance was mentioned as a possible way to cover the loss, should Barb not be able to recover the top which was damaged while waiting to be quilted.

I'm wondering about how people handle the issue of insurance. With ours, I have been told that my machine is covered under personal property as long as I am NOT running a business in my home.

That would require that I cover the longarm with business insurance. This type of insurance would cover the machine, materials, quilts in my possession, as well as limited liability for people who come to my house.

Right now, I am not in business, but I wonder if other insurance companies are different and would like to hear how you cover your machines.

Thanks. Linda

My profession is an insurance agent. My advice is to speak with your personal agent and ask them if you machine and customer quilts are covered. My insurance company has a professional business rider that was added to my homeowners policy for minimal premium which covers my machine, supplies, liability, and customer quilts in my possession at the time of loss. Don't expect it to be covered under personal property if you are quilting as a business. It all depends on the company! Again, ask your agent.

Sharon

Get it in writing! When we had Allstate, our agent told me that my machine was covered as long as I used it at least 50% of the time for personal use. I asked him for some kind of written endorsement or rider stating that fact. He then decided he'd better check with underwriting and was told that if I used my machine for business at all, it was NOT covered. Had I trusted my agent's advice, I would not have had coverage.

Not knocking insurance companies, but remember -- if there's a loss, they are looking for a reason NOT to pay. No matter what you think you have, if you haven't read your policy, you're not doing your job as a business owner.