rear handles

smudges

Hi! I am a newbie and have a brand new Millennium. For a few weeks now (since I got my machine) I have been cursing and swearing while trying to do pantographs, most of my curves were looking rather more like rectangles than curves. I checked and adjusted everything, my table is perfectly level, the table is exactly the same width all the way down, I adjusted my wheels to every position possible, all with no success. I kept telling myself it just takes practice, but it didn't seem to be helping at all. My curves from the front are fine, nice and curvy.

Then it finally occurred to me what the problem was - I am short and wide and so have short arms and a tummy that sticks out more than I would like, and in order to reach the handles I had to reach forward so far I was losing control of the machine. The carriage sticks out further than the machine, especially when stitching close to the front of the table, and this increased the angle I had to lean in. As I leaned in my albows got closer together and I was less able to control the machine, hence the square curves. I have taken the handles off and turned them around the other way so instead of angling towards the front of the machine they now angle back towards, and OH MY instant results! It takes about a quarter of the effort to push the machine around, and my curves are nice and round, and I can quilt for more than 10 minutes without my back getting sore (I never have back problems doing anything else).

However with the handes backwards of course my buttons are now backwards, and the angle is not very comfortable to grip. Is there a bracket or something available that will let me mount my rear handles the right way around but further towards the rear of the machine?

Sorry it's a bit long winded, hope it all makes sense :)

Susan in Australia

Susan - interesting.... I do not know an answer for you, but that does seem

to make sense. Personally, when I am working on the back side of my