+++UPDATE+++ I did a boo boo with a customer quilt...

Well, live and learn lessons, right?

This "lesson learned" involved FLEECE fabric for the quilt back. Now, I have to say that I have never used fleece for a quilt back before, and guessie what... a customer gave me fleece the other day to use and unbeknownst to me,,,,I was trying my best not to stretch the fleece, but it did and my quilt top was a little scrunched when I pulled it off the frame. It looked weird; not quite right (a little poofy in places). Anyway, I showed it to another longarmer friend and she told me about fleece being so stretchy and I have to be extra extra carfeful when rolling it on the frame (little or no tension?) Hmmm...

OK well, I am ripping out my stitches. I have 50% done. It was a lap sized quilt and fortunately not to heavily quilted. I am fixing it (and using flannel for the back...no more fleece this time!)

Live and learn and ... let \'er rip........ You know what I\'ll be doing tonight...:D ugh!

So, now that I\'ve sang my little song of the "Rip It" blues, what do you all think about fleece? Do you use it or see a lot of customers bringing it for quilts? How do you avoid over stretching? Any advice you can give me to help avoid this problem in the future?

Hi Shana,

sorry to hear you have the "rip-it blues!" Thats no fun but chocolate and a glass of wine work well!

I used fleece on the trapunto baseball quilt I did for Christmas and I didn\'t have any problems with it. I did load it so that the least stretchy went from roller to roller so maybe that is why I got lucky! I was very careful to not pull it tightly either. It really quilted up beautifully and according to my future sil I should "always use fleece for the back of my quilts!" I sure it wasn\'t just beginners luck.

For what it\'s worth, my first longarm quilting effort was backed with Minkee Blankee, and it scrunched up just like yours. Since it was mine, I gave the mess to a friend to use as a shop rag.