What would you do?

LOL, not a hard decision at all. I am a nurse practitioner and have been in the ER for 20 plus years. No such thing as twenty and out in the medical field. One job change and ya start over again. I am ready to be done. The chance to work part time (or not at all) and collect a pension; I'm there before the ink is dry on the papers.

As much as I would say...GO for it...I can say that is a tough thing to decide on and that it is something you only can do. Without knowing your 401K, your savings, your budget, your everything to live on history....I wouldn't even begin to tell you to even suggest something like that.

NOW with that said...yes, you can do it... but,you have to know if you can live and importantly survive...pay your house payment and all that goes with that. Quilting can and does supplement a pension income....the package is a good one and actually that is how I got started 11 years ago...I was bought out from a broadcasting company, didn't get medical or long time pension, but was bought out.....I also have a very understanding hubby who has pushed me into quilting and being able to help him with his businesses as well. Its not for everyone.

Getting a part-time in home care or even in a hospital will give your social aspects that I don't have anymore...and believe me after awhile you start to crave to talk to someone other than the little voices in your head....

I honestly have to say, it was a great thing for me, but its not for everyone...so I would only ask that you really really study on it before you make a hasty decision....

If they offered me that (which won't happen because a) I'm not a nurse and B) I just skated not being laid off:o), I'd be out the door before the ink was dry on the paper. If you take that money and invest it into a good money market fund, you'll do well.