My attempt at freehand and SID !

This is my first attempt with a ruler and stitch in ditch work, which I would have actually loved doing except for awful tension problems with metro thread. (1st time using this stuff) will be back to Glide or so fine next quilt !!

I stitched in the ditch around the star and blocks, and did a kind of terry twist (I think that is the term) in the corner squares and triangles, then filled in each star in different designs.

Although I am happy with the result overall (well from a distance anyway), some of my stitch in ditch is outside the ditch - more in the middle of the road in some places !!! LOL

I have learned alot of lessons though with this quilt, which is what PPP is all about !!

1 Never use a plain backing

2 Never use bright thread on front and pale on back

3 Get a better stitch in ditch ruler

:P

Janette your quilt looks great. Your stitch in the ditch looks fine to me and your terry twists look good too. My stitch in the ditch is still quite wobbly :P

I was on Deloa's website last night watching her videos of her using her rulers. The one she calls Castle guide looks really good for stitch in the ditch.

http://www.deloasquiltshop.com/deloasonlinestore/castleguide.html

I have a couple of rulers for stitch in the ditch , but I might just have to get this one plus her Boomerang rulers

Hi Kath

It is funny you say that because I ordered the castle a couple of days ago !! I hope to get better results with that. I did think about the "little one" too, but I think you could do more with the castle.

Hope you are well.

Janette

Originally posted by goldringading

Well done Janette, Your quilt looks great! I love the colouway you have chosen....

I was wondering what was keeping you so quiet in the Feather Boot Camp, now I know!!!

Did you use any of your new found feathers on this quilt????

Beat Wishes

Hi Kay,