I was wondering, how many pantographs everyone has started with once they got their LA?

How often do you use them virses free motion?

I have so few pantographs but have been looking at some, but have been debating whether or not to purchase them.

I am still new to this.................

thanks in advance.

Tish

Uniquely Yours Quilts

Tish,

When I purchased my used long-arm, it came with 4 pantographs. I purchased maybe 6 more. After getting the 'hang' of doing the motion, I stopped using them. I found it much more difficult to reposition the pantograph after rolling the quilt than just doing it fee motion. I know some LA-ers that do nothing but pantograph...I think it's a confidence thing. As I always say, it's all about Practice, Practice, Practice!:)

I think it is a personal prefrence. I cannot do freehand quilting. I want to soo very bad, but I just cannot do it. I use pantographs alot and I like them. I would rather freehand, and if you can do that then I would suggest that you go for it. But if you can't no big deal, your customer will love it just the same.

With the newer pantographs available now that interlock, there is no need to reposition the pantograph. Just advance the quilt, make sure your laser is lined up correctly and go! Soooooo easy for those of us that are "freehand challenged" ;)

No more of those quilts that "look" like they've been stitched in rows!

Patty

Guest Linda S

I have lots of pantographs and use them for probably about 1/4 of my quilting. I mostly do custom work now, so I'm developing a HUGE stash of stencils. I like having a good assortment of pantos on hand though. I love the ones that can be found at www.jodibeamish.com -- a little something for everyone.

Linda