Can anyone help me with templates??

Hey there, does anyone use templates to create designs in borders?? I have every template in the book and never use any of them. I have a huge irish chain on the frame now that just needs o ne more border done. Outer border is beadboard, inner is a little feather so it is the second one I'd like to try something like those half circle things that create a diamond in between. I sound like a total newbie don't I? LOL Anyway, any help would be so appreciated.

Tracey

Hi Tracey,

I think you are talking about the "egg and dart" design--a quilting design taken from the hand quilters. If you want to use the template to mark only, measure the length of the space you want to fill. Decide how many "hoops" you want along this space and mark a line across the border where each space is. To decide on which size circle template to use for marking, audition the ones you have until you find one where the top of the circle touches the top of the border seam and points on the sides of the template touch the opposite seam where the marked spacing is. The hoop must fit all within the space you have marked. Mark all the hoops across the border and then flip the template and mark all the the way back. There is "egg and dart"!

If you are a confident freehander and if the spaces aren't huge, stitch along--it will have a nice rhythm of hoops. If you want to use the template to stitch, you will need a template a bit smaller than the one used to mark--to compensate for the width of the hopping foot.

Fewer spaces across to fill will mean a bigger circle template to use and also a shallower arc "hoop" which means a more flattened diamond shape. I think that would be easier to stitch.

I'll be back with a "visual".....

Here is a little help.

post--13461906713964_thumb.jpg