High school class

I am a high school Geometry teacher and my wife and I are machine quilters. I have written a grant with my school librian and a FACS teacher to get funds to make two sampler quilts.

My kids designed the blocks in Geometry. The librian did a lesson on quilt history and basic construction, the sewing kids are making the quilts. The quilts will be used as opportunity quilts to raise funds to continue the project in the future.

All that to get to my question. We are doing a field trip with the sewing kids to my studio to learn about quilting. What are your suggestions for things to discuss.

So far I have:

1. Quilt intake

2. Types of quilting

3. Careers in machine quilting.

What are your other ideas?

Thanks

Don

Awesome opportunity for you and the students.

Initial investment.

Education (color theory, LA classes, piecing classes)

Competition.

The mechanics, care & maintenance required for your machine.

Thread and batting choices.

Any tools...rulers, pantos, computers.

I would briefly cover hand quilting, too.

I might call the local paper for coverage, too.

Let us know how it goes.

Great ideas. I really appreciate your ideas. We have had the KC Star come out but not sure when the article will run.

Keep the ideas coming. We really want to encourage these young quilters to continue. What are some of the things you have done to keep quilting economical ...working with high school kids the ides of spending $100-$200 bucks on fabric blows there minds.

Thanks

Quilting originated by what we now call recycling.

Perhaps you could have a contest for them using recycled fabrics to make quilts?

Wouldn't cost anything and might be fun.

I'll keep thinking.

I love kids.

The idea of kids quilting is almost too much for me!

Great thoughts from Jeannie about the charitable side of things.

Quilting originated by what we now call recycling.

Perhaps you could have a contest for them using recycled fabrics to make quilts?