First "Custom" Quilt Attempt

This is my very first attempt at custom quilting on my Millie. It was all freehand, no marking or rulers (well, because I don't know how to do either...yet). I hope you can see some of the quilting in the photo, but basically, in the cross-stitched blocks, I stippled around everything. In the sashings, I just quilted with curves. The border is just meandered.

Any and all feedback welcome - positive or negative - I can take it...I really want to learn!

post-63356-0-47292900-1402937256_thumb.jpg

I looked at your blog and just love the hand quilted patriotic star quilt!  You did a good job on this.  Now for the constructive criticism part...  I would recommend getting some curved rulers if you don't have any.  Rulers were much easier for me to learn to use than learning to smoothly follow a pantograph. I would recommend that you take the time to find the center of each of the squares and mark that with either a chalk pencil, purple marker, or frixion pen.  The curves will then intersect in the center.  I'm very picky about my quilting, as are most of the customers I quilt for.  After longarming for 6 years, I still prefer to use curved rulers or something to make sure my curves are uniform.  Bead board lines in the outer border would also have worked well for this quilt. 

Very nice, especially for your first time freehanding! 

Marking is easy with blue water erase markers (test on a scrap first, to make sure the fabric dye won't run), purple air erase markers, chalk pencils, etc.  I used to be so intimidated by rulers, but Kimmy Brunner's class on Craftsy really helped, and I highly recommend it.  You will need a base expander to use rulers, but if you want more precise shapes, they are great.  Freehand curves are also nice, just a matter of what you (and your customer, if you are quilting for others) want.  I agree with Debbie, rulers are easier for me than doing pantos, which I still don't do!