From Woodworking To Quilting!!

I mentioned when I first joined this wonderful forum that before quilting I was a woodworker.  Had planned on doing that when I retired but health problems decided differently and that's when I chose quilting.  I get the same satisfaction from working with fabric as I did working with wood but I do still miss my woodworking.

Thought ya'll might allow me to post some of my instruments that I made over the years.  I mainly made musical instruments.  Had a pretty good part time job going to dulcimer festivals teaching autoharp workshops and selling my autoharps and dulcimers.

The last picture is a picture of my wife playing her custom dulcimer to our new grandson that was spending the night at our house in his new swinging crib I made him.

David

post-66081-0-81226500-1430567787_thumb.jpg

post-66081-0-64772800-1430567788_thumb.jpg

post-66081-0-04684600-1430567797_thumb.jpg

post-66081-0-39929900-1430567974_thumb.jpg

post-66081-0-39139300-1430567997_thumb.jpg

Beautiful work.  My son dabbles in woodwork and has made some beautiful furniture and accessories of which I have some.  I even got him to make me a combination shelf/quilt hanger from a picture that I took at a quilt shop once and he has made me a quilt ladder.  I think if he profession ever falls through, he could be a great woodworker.  

David, my husband is a woodworker, too, so he really understands and appreciates my quilting hobby. :) We have a Dulcimer he made in his high school years on display in our living room; pretty cool. Yours are absolutely stunning and beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

Just to keep from getting you confused picture #1 and #3 are autoharps....the last picture is a mountain dulcimer.....the next to last picture has both mountain dulcimers and autoharps.  The short instruments are autoharps.  The long hour glass shaped instruments and the one teardrop instrument are mountain dulcimers.