Prevent drag

Hello All,

I am fairly new to long arm quilting. I just bought a Milli at the begging of this year.

Yesterday, my machine was not moving freely. I wondered if anyone has tried Supreme Free-Motion Slider for their long arm?

I attended a guild meeting where Sharon Schamber suggested foam and rice bags and the slider to prevent drag.

I was trying to quilt a friend\'s quilt on yesterday but the machine was dragging. We both became somewhat frustrated as we tried everything including changing thread, oiling the wheels, adjusting the wheels on the cam.

Any other suggestions?

Cherlyn

Make sure there is no thread caught in a wheel. (I didn\'t think I had any...but finally found it).

Has there been a problem with drag before? If not, there must be something causing it now. Check to see if everything is level on the table.

Just because Sharon Schamber says it...don\'t make it so. :o Will I be excommunicated from the quilting community for saying that:o Sorry, but everyone is treating her like she is the authority on all machines. She uses a Prodigy and she talks about Gammills. I have not heard her mention APQS could it be we don\'t have the problems the other machines have??

To all of you with Prodidy and Gammills, I mean no offense. We just can\'t go by everything Sharon says.

Check everything on your table and machine before you use anything on it. I don\'t even know what this Supreme Free-Motion Slider is....But I don\'t have a problem with drag on my machine and I have not heard of anyone else having the problem.

Ooops...there went my opinion again....I have a hard time controlling that thing!!

Check for threads wound around the wheels. Dark threads are easily missed when you look.They can get wrapped right round the axle so they are almost invisible.

Has one of your channel locks got stuck?

Are your cables all moving freely and not snagging on the table.?

Are your rails really clean?