Binding Barb's way

Our own Barb Mayfield teaches a class on attaching bindings. No glue, no weird methods, simple and straightforward and fool proof. I just used her method yesterday to machine stitch on a binding--it\'s not a show quilt, it\'s a fundraiser-- and wow, I am impressed. Looks like I am a pro at bindings, which I usually hate doing. From now on, I will be using this method when I do not have to hand stitch the binding down. I don\'t know if she sells the class materials or gives it away, but I am completely impressed. Now back to weed whacking.

:D:D

Nancy

Nancy can you put up a picture of the new way....I sew mine on with a DSM and a decorative stitch if its a charity quilt...always looking for a new way... And Barb if this is something you are getting ready to launch...let us know about it?

Ricky Timms puts all his bindings on this way as he demonstrates in one of his DVD\'s.

His argument is, it\'s not a wrong way, just different and if it\'s executed well, the method is just as valid.

He also uses a thin piece of piping (not piping cord, but no 3 embroidery thread) as part of the process, set between the binding and the quilt which I thought looked quite striking.

Barb is off skin diving in a place called Bonaire, which I am sure I have spelled wrong. It\'s in the Caribbean. I hope she is having some major fun with her hubby. I don\'t want to post her binding instructions without her approval, so we\'ll wait til she gets back.

Nancy

Chris, I sent you a U2U right back, girlfriend. Watch your snail mail.....

I went to a Ricky Tims seminar last year and learned a ton! I love his bindings. They look great. I just wish I could have learned how to do them during the seminar!;) I\'m supposed to be on a list for a class on these types of bindings. I was given the info. by another quilt instructor. According to her, if she could machine sew bindings that looked that good, she\'ll never hand sew another one! Sounds good to me!