Capabilities of the Wacom or just use iPad?

Hi Everyone,

I've been noticing that a lot of people use the wacom tablets to help with designs and drawing on quilts in order to help others with quilt design and layout. I think that would be a really useful tool, especially since I am just learning about quilt design and could use some practice and opportunities to experiment. It could be useful to communicate ideas with customers as I don't plan having customers over to the house do to county business laws/guidelines.

I also wondered if you could use the wacom to draw a design and save it, ultimately uploading it to another program to be digitized for computer quilting...or is that too much work and really involved? I have an Innova with Autopilot.

How do you use your wacom and would it just be smarter to use the iPad since I already own one? Would it be worth it to purchase one, or should i just stick with what i have?

Thanks,

Jen

Thanks,

Jen

I just got the Wacom.

At first I thought I wasn't finding my way thru it, but after watching the tutorial that's part of one of the CD;s it comes with, It's soooo easy.

I just open up a pic of a quilt on here, doodle on it, and hit the save. and then repost it back onto the forum.

It really turned out to be a piece of cake..and I LOVE IT!

Oh, and you can choose your color you want, the thickness of your drawing line, etc.

Sandra,

It is a program that you can download. Some are free and some cost. I think I paid for the one I got but it was only like 3.95 or something. Go to the App store. Here is the link: http://www.apple.com/ipad/from-the-app-store/ I'll have to look at my iPad to see which App I found. One of my co-workers told me about it and it worked. Look for photo editing capabilities.