Snow dyeing fabric

Christmas comes early at our house. My wonderful wife that's also a quilter gave me 20+ yards of fabric and everything needed to try snow dyeing fabric. We may also try low water immersion and immersion dyeing as well. I feel like a kid with a new chemistry kit just waiting for the next snow day (I'm a teacher-Geometry...I think of it as Pre-Quilting). Anyway I am looking for tips and suggestions. My wife is awesome. I can't wait to see what we do with this. It is truly a blessing to have someone you can create with together.

Merry Christmas to all and may God bless you in the year to come.

Don

Merry Christmas, Don.

Have a blast with the dye kit,  your wife is wonderful..

We don't get snow often enough to try this method, and I

have too much going on to invest in other methods.

God Blessings on you and yours now and forever.

Rita & Himself.

sorry I think I messed up the first question to tamarack shack... what kind of fabric do you use? that is absolutely awesome and we have tons of snow here in Michigan too.

Joy right now I'm using white cotton from Sew Batik.  It has a very fine weave so the texture in the snow dyeing is very crisp.  I have also used Kona white but it is a looser weave and tends to fray a lot!  I like to use Kona when I'm dyeing a large quilt backing.

Kathy,

Pictures you posted here is what got us started. Your tutorials are great. Do you use urea in your dye mixture. The more I research the more I find that there is no specific way to dye. I tend to be a rules person and want to know it will turn out right the first time. I really can't wait to give this a try.

No I don't use Urea in my dyeing, never found it necessary.