Need help with orientation of machine

On Pins and Needles

Good morning to all! I've recently been laid off my job and have decided that going forward I want to be a longarm quilter. While I am an experienced quilter, I am completely new to longarming, so I studied and studied and with your help I took delivery of my new Millennium with 12 foot table yesterday and the assembly has begun!

My room is only 12 X 20, I think it will need to sit about 2 feet from the wall ( less would be better, but I think I can spare 2 feet), so the question is, should I put the front of the machine or the back of the machine near the wall? I don't want to get it wrong (dh would not be happy doing the set up twice!) and I just have no experience of my own to draw on.

Thanks so much for any input....I'm so impressed with the friendly, helpful people in these forums, hopefully someday I'll be able to help someone in return.

Cindy

As I like to work mostly from the front of my machine. I placed my back (the front of the machine) against the wall. This allows me to see into my studio and visit with my family and friends that come over without being startled from behind.

Congratulations Cindy on a wonderful purchase and welcome to the world of longarming. You are gonna love the ride! :D

Hi, Cindy! Well, I am set up like Kristina is, except I have a work table behind me. I set up my machine so the front of the machine is more toward the wall (where my table that holds tools is) and have the back of the machine with more space in the quilting room. This works very well for me. I was playing with my MS Word drawing tool and created this drawing of my quilting room... maybe this will help you to see what I mean?

Oh and after you put everything together, if you "change your mind"... remember that with a little help from a partner, you can slightly lift and carefully "skooch" the longarm table around in the room. No need to tear it apart and reassemble!!