Need ideas for good habits from the start...

As a newbie, I would love to develop good quilting habits from the start. Things like "wipe down your rails before you begin" or "have a sample sandwich to check tension before you start on the quilt itself".

What habits do you have that all newbies should learn?

As always, thanks for the help!

You will soon have a routine when you step into the studio to start.

Searching the archives here is probably the best education you will be able to find. Volumes of hints, tips, and solutions to problems await you behind that search button.

Do the "pre-flight check".;) That's wiping down, oiling, readying the leaders for loading, perhaps changing the needle, and any warm-up you think appropriate.

Measure, measure, measure the backer/batting/ top. Sketch a diagram with all dimensions to remind you of how the parts will be loaded. You will hear stories of running out of batting or backer at the last roll because one part was loaded the wrong way. It's a nightmare that even seasoned quilters sometimes have happen.

You will find a favorite way of loading and get good and quick at it.

As you build your library of designs, start a notebook both for future personal reference and also to show to your customers.

You are with a friendly and sharing group--enjoy the ride!!

I am pretty new myself, but I can share a few tips (if you don't ask me how I know...)

Be sure all stray items are removed from your quilt before you advance it.

Likewise, be sure the side clamps are removed before you advance the quilt.

Never, ever keep any permanent indelible markers anywhere near your sewing area. (or perhaps even in the house)

Relax your iron grip on the longarm. (Good for you and your quilting)

Stop ever once in a while to refocus your eyes and do a few neck rolls and shoulder shrugs.

Check out online sources for inspiration (Set a timer and get off the computer when it goes off)