I dedicate this quilt in memory of Trish DeLong, my quilt teacher.

I dedicate this quilt in memory of Trish DeLong, my quilt teacher.

Before I share the photos, I have to preface by telling you that this quilt is one of the very first quilt tops I ever made, when I began my love affair with quilting and started taking classes back in 2002 time frame.

This quilt is very special to me in many ways, but mostly because of my teacher, Trish. I was nearing the end of completing my second “semester” of Trish’s very popular “Star of the Month” classes and we were on the 2nd to the last month of classes when we learned that Trish had ovarian cancer and the classes were canceled. So, we never got to finish all of our star blocks and Trish began a fierce battle to save her life.

Besides being a fabulous quilt teacher in her spare time, she was by profession, an Intensive Care nurse at our local hospital, and she was a wife and a mom of two young girls.

After only six short months of praying and hoping for the best, she passed away. I went to her funeral and it was in this huge church that was packed and all of her quilts were laying around everywhere along the alter and the pews. They passed the microphone around and some people gave testimonies of the impact that Trish made in their lives. Not a dry eye in the place, including me. I’ve never been to a funeral service like that before in my life. I wanted to say something, but I didn’t; I was just too upset. So, I held onto my blocks and a year later, put them all together in a small quilt top. I wanted to wait and give this to a professional longarm quilter to really do it justice and a beautiful job, but I stashed it away in a storage box and forgot about it until six months ago.