I need advice on moving to a storefront

I have come to the realization that I have outgrown my home with my longarm business and my husband and I are writing up a business proposal to take my business to the next level. He is so supportive and has done so much to get this started for me.

anyway, our basic plan is to provide quilting services (custom and hopefully computerized when APQS finishes their machine) I would teach my husband how to do computerized work and he would manage the business ...and eventually hire an "apprentice".

-sales for longarm supplies/batting/thread/books/pantos/thread (all geared toward longarm...the stuff we wish the LQS would carry but wont)

-teaching and hosting teachers and hopefully quilt guilds

and a couple of other things in the works.

I have no background in retail or leasing a storefront. ANY advice would be appreciated as we are just going on prayer and drive. I need to be able to work out all of the pros and cons before we head to the big man at the bank or sign our life away on a lease.

I would look hard at your tax and insurance situation.

Are you a Schedule C Small Business? You have more protection as an LLC. If you have employees, you have a whole host of tax things to take care of.

You will need liability insurance as you will have people coming to your location.

Have you done a cost benefit analysis? How much in fixed costs (rent, insurance, utilities) will you have each month, no matter how much business you bring in? How much additional revenue will you bring in? Does this cover the increased expenses?

Good luck - glad to hear you\'re working up a business plan - it really helps to see the realities of a situation and where your risk is. Feel free to email me directly with questions.

Julia

Hi Jessica! This is an awesome endeavor! :) Congratulations and I wish you & your DH the biggest success and fulfilment of dreams. I know you will do well.