2 questions

Good Day Fellow Longarmers

I have a couple of questions for you and they are.....

1. Do any of you design your own quilts and, if so, what computer program do you use? This is for designing the quilt, not the quilting.

2. Has anyone ever had a problem with sinus stuffiness from quilting? I have had this happen twice now, where I end up with a headache and what feels like a sinus infection after quilting.

Answers will be truly appreciated.

Sylvia from Canada

Question #1....yes I use EQ version 6 for that.

Question #2....sometimes but its more of a thing with a smokey quilt...maybe the battings that they are using you are having a reaction to. Check to see what battings they are using and see if they are the same and go from there.

Hi Sylvia,

1) I use good old fashioned graph paper and pencils. I tried EQ but we didn't get along. I'm a computer programmer by profession so you would think EQ would be right up my alley. Instead, I found it very un-logical and frustrating. Oh well, paper and pencil work just fine.

2) I've never had that happen to me.

If the fabric on the quilt top hasn't been washed before piecing, a lot of chemicals could exist and get in the air causing allergies. (like Coleen said...)

Whenever we unwrap new bolts of fabric, we tend to sneeze more and I can tell some people's allergies seem to flare from the fabric and bolts of batting that we have in the shoppe.

I do need to take the air purifier to the shoppe - thanks for the suggestion and maybe that will help.

Oh, I use MS Excel for designing quilts...guess it's the accounting nerd coming out in me. I make all of my columns and rows the same width and height then insert shapes with scanned fabric or fabric swatches from the internet if I'm designing with a specific fabric line or colors.