HELP!!!! What Do You Charge For Rush Orders???

I have a client (and she is a friend) that is bringing over a baby quilt tonight and she wants me to quilt it before Friday, March 13th. She knows I have 2 other quilts to get done before hers and she is friends with one of them and she said and I will quote, "will you do mine before .........'s ? but don't let her find out. Oh, well so what if she does." I was so stunned I didn't know what to say. I just told her I had a hair appointment at 3:30 and so she could bring it over after that. So we decided on 6:00 tonight. I feel like I should charge her a rush order charge besides the quilting charge because I have 7 quilts ahead of hers not just her friends.

Can anyone give me some fast suggestions? And how much should I charge for the rush charge????

Renae

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Ranae, I'm no expert, but I would definitely charge her a rush fee. How do you break down your charges? For example, I charge a quilting fee and a set up fee. If you do that, you could double the quilting fee? I'm sure many more people with much more experience than I will chime in here, but that's my 2 cents worth.

;)

Renae,

I have no idea what to charge as a rush fee but I'm thinking 25%. Especially since now you have to work her into everybody else. This really could back fire if the other customers get ticked. I don't know what I would do but it makes me sad that a "friend" would put you in that position. Charge extra for your free time! Sorry I wish I could be of more help!

Hi Renae,

This is always a tough one. You KNOW you're being used by your "friend", don't you? That's why you're feeling used.

I would explain to her that all your quilting time is already scheduled and that to put her ahead of the line up means you have to give up your "free" or "me" time. If you're married, it also means giving up "we" time, something which your hubby may not be too happy about.