I've Had It!!

Nope they just don't listen. "t doesn't really matter." I've been telling my classes for 2 years now and they still won't measure their borders. they should know how laid back I am about most things by now and therefore follow the few pedantic instructions I give, really, shouldn't they?

I have just had a lady unpick several weeks work on a quilt constructed entirely of borders. She had worked out it wasn't flat and asked why. The first wrong border was only 1/4" out but it was enough. I think she will now do it properly, and preach the message. I won't promise anyone else will listen though.

I wish I knew why this just doesn't seem to sink in.

Ferret

I think you are right, MB. Also maybe they are a little perplexed on how to measure properly.

And then they have to ease in the border which can be a PITA. Ask me how I know this? I hate easing in those borders, but frankly it's worth the time and effort to have nice flat, square quilts. :) Totally worth it!!!!!

At least tell them to use a walking foot when stitching the borders!!

All the measuring in the world won't help if the pieced inner area is not square when the borders are stitched. If that is the case, you have two options--an unsquare top with flat borders, or a nice square top with borders a-waving at you.

Go forth, Mary Beth, and educate the masses!!:D

Tomorrow's guild program is a panel of us long-armers. My topic is going to be on applying borders. Don't think it will help much, but if its sinks in to just one person then that's progress. When I owned the LQS in the beginner classes we taught the proper way to apply borders. Didn't do any good. Borders are still waving at me.

At my guild I was watching one of my customers apply a border. I asked her if she measured the centers and them cut accordingly. She said "Sort of". I knew what that meant and when I was working on the quilt, I had to nip/tuck the border. Nice quilts, just measure the dam border area first.