Wholesale Batting Sources?

juliagraves

Hi Julia,

Have you tried E.E. Schenk? They're in Portland, Oregon, and very helpful. Website is www.eeschenk.com I think they're initial minimum purchase is $250, but that's easy to do with a roll of batting and some thread. It's also a good place for fabric for backing, I usually find some "crafty cottons" for $1.99 a yard.

Hope that helps, Beth

Dear Julia

I use only Quilter's Dream (unless a customer supplies their own). The people at QD are great..........wholesale only, no min. orders and lots of choices.

They do require a state tax ID #...not just EIN (federal #)

I just got a call from them last week to see if I was happy with their services. Believe me, I'm one of their smallest customers being that I'm new at LA quilting so that was pretty nice their part.

You can reach them at www.quiltersdreambatting.com or 757 463-3264. Ask and they will send you a package of samples and price list.

I spoke with the people at Hobbs, but they wanted a min order of $250. Besides I think Hobbs is toooo dusty. So I didn't purchase from them.

For poly I stick with QD...their Poly or Dream Blend.

Guess I'm hooked on them. I'm sure lots of the other LAers out there can give you more info on other products they like and how to get in touch with them.

Kate Myers

Wears Valley

Sevierville.TN

Hi Julia,

I usually get my wholesale Hobbs 80/20 from Linda's Electric Quilters(lequilters.com). That's Linda Taylor's company. I haven't bought any in almost a year though, so I haven't done a recent cost comparison. There are a few other places to buy it wholesale, but at the time Linda's Electric Quilters was the least expensive.

Jill Kerekes

Julia,

There is also Hobbs Bonded Fibers. There is a minimum purchase so if you need a lot to start with you could go there. I think it is a 4 box/roll minimum, which stinks, but I have done it. If you want Hobbs and don't want a ton then Jill is right go to Linda's.