the end

why is it that everytime i get to the end of the quilt, that's where all my problems begin?  the only thing i know to do is take a tuck :)  i always think everything is going to work out, but then i get that deer in the headlight look...& just can't figure out how i got there!  does that happen to anyone else?

I am a newbie....I mostly have done just overall designs and not very dense....most of my experience was on my old nine inch and frame...but what I needed to do to not end up with a tuck at the end was to make sure that my sides of the quilt while I progressed were really pin basted out to the edge and were not beginning to pull into the center...I would try and make sure that the edge where staying in the same vertical position....I found that pin basting the edges worked better for me than stitch basting the edges down...not sure why....maybe try the next time you are doing a quilt to measure the width as you go to see if the edges are creeping into the center....I am assuming that the quilt is fairly square to begin with and that the borders are not very wavy to beginn with.....Lin

Hi Linda...

I've had this problem a couple of times myself, and I'm not sure why either.

I float all my tops, and it doesn't always happen.

I use my channel lock for a straight line when starting out across the top.

Before stitching down the sides, I make sure the rows align with the belly bar as I advance.

And I scooch any fullness as evenly into the quilting space as possible.

And sometimes it still happens.

I think the times I've had trouble, it was due to poorly attached borders.

Could this be your problem?

(I can't be sure since I never measure that thoroughly before quilting.)

I know an excellent quilter who says, "the shape you give me is the shape I give back."