My wrinkle on machine binding

I have been binding my quilts by machine for the last several years--binding applied to back of quilt, brought forward, and stitched down from the front. Those results were less than esthetic, so I was open to a new method.

I liked Sharon Schamber's idea of sewing from the front for a back-finished binding, but the glue step didn't seem to be that much of a time saver, so I changed from glue basting to hand basting the binding from the front with water soluble thread. The first time I did it, I put the basting stitches right next to the binding, and that was a mistake because the machine stitching didn't catch all the binding on the back, and I ended up finishing a lot of it by hand. The next time I did it, I sewed the basting stitch about 1/16th inch in from the binding seam and then stitched between the basting stitch and the binding seam, and it caught all the binding on the back.

Enjoying that hand work while basting made me think that I wanted to do a binding by hand once again, and I did so on my last baby quilt. It took me almost eight hours! I was reminded why I been machine binding my quilts all these years!

Another trick: Stitch the binding on the front as always. Pull your binding around back and pin it just past the stitching line. Then used your stitch-in-the-ditch foot to stitch from the front of the quilt! Pretty and turns out well every time. Of course you wouldn't want to do this on show quilts but all the others - Oo - la - la!:D