getting started

My name is Nancy and I am waiting for the delivery of my Millennium. I have some machine quilting experience (handi quilter set up with a Brother machine) and can't wait to step up. I want to practice a lot and work on some of my own tops and eventually go professional. Any recommendations for what thread to order to begin? Thanks in advance for all your help.

Hi Nancy,

Welcome and congratulations on your Millie. You will get lots of suggestions regarding thread. Some of my favorites are Glide www.bobbincentral.com set up a user name and password and you will be able to receive a sample set of thread and Magna bobbins. The other threads I really like are Isacord and Fufu www.sewingmachine.com my machine really likes all of these threads.

Enjoy your machine I hope that you won't have to wait too long for it to arrive.

Sue

Hi Nancy,

When I started out I used the Superior So Fine. I had fewer tension issues with poly. Then I went to Signature Cotton which I like. A very slippery but wonderful thread is the Rheingold line. The sheen is beautific. There are so many wonderful threads out there. King Tut is my favorite variegated. Check out Dawn C's tips on threading the guides when using different threads. It's very helpful.

After I'd bought threads of many colors, I'd heard someone comment that another long arm quilter said she used either light gray or medium gray unless the customer actually asked for a different color. So on the next quilt I decided to use a gray, and it is a great neutral, though I find myself using a gold color (not metallic) a lot. You can blow your budget with thread, so it is a good idea to plan ahead and choose some colors you think you'd be using.

Sharon

www.roseofsharonquilting.com