Domestic sewing machine

Guest Linda S

I know this is generally my response, but I'm a Costco addict, so I'll go ahead. Try Costco. They generally carry Singer and Brother machines at good prices. The best thing about Costco? Take the machine home and try it for a few months, if you don't like it, you can take it back. I think they have a 90-day return policy now.

Linda

I love my Bernina Artista 640, but you won't find one in that price range. I don't know if you'll find ANY with bells and whistles like a needle threader for that money. Maybe a gently used one? Check craigs list and ebay. Also, sometimes the sewing machine repair places have great machines from a trade in.

Of course, I'm no expert on machines either.

I'd like the new Janome Horizon, but it's new and $3,000. YIKES! I sure can't afford THAT!

Guest Linda S

I'm in total agreement on the Bernina - but you won't find one for $300-500. Nothing sews like a Bernina . . .Nothing! (Just ask me when I make a mistake and need to take those lovely stitches out!!).

I found a really nice Janome platinum for my daughter, who is just starting sewing, not too threatening for her, but full of nice features, it was a little more than the 400, closer to 650, but was sturdy and had nice features. A lot of the ladies around here carry it to classes instead of their big computer models they leave at home. One lady liked it so much for piecing, she says she uses it more than the big buck machine she has:D

I need to jump in for Pfaff, I have had one for 4 years and I love, love, love it. I am not sure what you can get used in your price range, but I love the independent feed that feeds the top layer along with your bottom feed. You can sew thin as well as thick.

I bought mine in Canada, the prices have come down alot since I bought mine, and I don't know what the US prices are.

I have a cousin in Minnesota, Home Ec major who swears by Bernina.

Good Luck! It is so much fun to get a new machine!!!