Freehand vs Panto

Hi again...just curious about how many quilters are "freehand" as opposed to using pantos. I am still very new to quilting but so far prefer to use freehand designs. I am going to try a panto for the first time this week on one of my own quilts as not sure how to line it all up...lol

I am a full-on freehand quilter. I can quilt a panto, but like to quilt from the front. I never liked the obvious row-look of some pantos. Freehanding allows me to place elements to avoid heavy seam intersections and put pretty designs where they will show. There are gorgeous dense pantos for sale, as well as intricate pattern boards, so back-side quilting can be gratifying as well as beautiful. Just not my cuppa tea.

Quilt what and where you like best. We are so lucky to have the tools and techniques to find our favorite method of putting stitches on cloth. What a great job!

I'm also relatively new to longarming, and I prefer quilting from the front of the machine. However, using pantos allows me to do things I would not tackle freehand. It's also a good way to get accustomed to making particular shapes with confidence. You don't have to worry about placement, you can just stitch the design, work on making the shape. Once I'm comfortable with a shape or design, I can incorporate it into freehand work.

If you shop around a little, there are some really beautiful designs available.

I do both. I'm first to admit I'd much rather be at the front of my machine but sometimes I like that I can put down a pattern and follow a line and not have to think at all (well that might be a little stretch but I at least don't have to make design decisions). I'm not as consistant at freehand all overs as I'd like to be so pantos solve that problem.