What to charge for binding

A customer came with her quilt the other day and brought the binding with her, asking me to attach it. I pressed it in half, sewed it (with my DM) onto the back, then turned to the front and attached with a decorative stitch. No hand sewing.

What is your normal rate for this? I've never done binding for a customer before, but it looks like I'm starting!! ^_^

I have 2 ladies who do my customers bindings they charge from .16-.25 an inch. They charge .16 an inch when binding is already attached and all they need to do is hand or machine stitch it down. If they need to prepare the binding first then they charge in the higher range, but the final cost in this range depends on how much work and time it took to prepare the binding, as we all know some times everything is pressed and ready other times it's rolled into a ball.

When a customer brings me a quilt to bind I quote them only the price range and then I let my binding ladies decide on the final price once they see and finish the job.

Terry

Currently, I use my domestic machine to attach the binding to one or both sides of the quilt, or alternatively, attach the binding to one side of the quilt by machine and then turn the binding and stitch it by hand.

• $1.50 / linear ft. to attach the binding to the quilt to one side only;
  • $2.00 / ft. to attach the binding to the back of the quilt and then turn it to the front of the quilt. I use either a straight stitch or a decorative stitch on the front of the quilt depending on the circumstance. A decorative stitch looks great on a flannel quilt.
  • $3.50 / ft. to attach the binding to the front of the quilt by machine and then stitch the binding to the back by hand.

Leslie