Almost a Disaster.......

I have had a very stressful experience this week and I'm going to share it with all of you in hopes that it will prevent others from going through the same thing.

In December I posted pictures of a quilt that I had been working on for almost 2 years called Roses In Bloom, that I made for my son and DIL. My longarm guild convinced me that I needed to show this quilt and they encouraged me to enter it in the MQS Show in May. My son and DIL happily agreed to let me show it before delivering it to them in Dallas Texas.

So I have been busy going over the quilt, making sure that all the jump stitches are trimmed, making a hanging sleeve and label and all that good stuff. After reading several articles in the latest On Track magazine about preparing your quilts for shows, I decided to try a suggestion by an award-winning quilter. She said that she always soaks her quilts in cold water in her washing machine for about 1/2 hour, then gently spins them out, dries them for approx. 5 minutes, then lays the quilt out on the floor to block them. She said that not only do the quilts hang really nice and flat, but it really enhances the look of the stitching in the quilting. So I decided to try this............lesson #1, don't try something like this at 8:00 pm on a Sunday evening..............my quilt is all batiks (and no, there were not pre-washed......).