Prayer Request for my Dad

You all probably get tired of me....but I need one more prayer request.

My dad has been in the hospital since 4 am Monday morning. He has pancrintitus....I'm sure I butchered the name, but sound it out ;) Anyway, it is suppose to be very painful. They have had him on morphine, then taken him off for something less strong and that didn't work. Today my mom tells me that he is very disoriented and doesn't know who he is, where he is or anything like that. They took him to the bathroom and he fell so mom said half the floor of nurses were there helping to get him back to bed.

My dad is in the best of health, except he is going blind due to macular degeneration (all you medical people - I'm sorry for the misspelled medical terms - I am an entertainer not a doctor :D). Because he is losing his eyesight he doesn't do much any more.

So being in the hospital is not the norm, he doesn't take much medication and for his age that is pretty good. My dad is 82 years old and I know he is getting up in years and at his age time is getting close for him, he knows that too. We have talked about this many times.

Anyway, if you could keep him in your prayers. My parents live in Springfield - 3 hours away, so I can't get too them very easily. I will finish my day of work today and see what I need to do. My mom will call me tonight when she gets home from the hospital to tell me what she thinks I should do about coming down. I don't want my mom there alone if they should tell her bad news.

Apparently, my Dad has something that they are running tests on and the something is in his stomach. This just doesn't sound good...but I don't want to jump to conclusions.

Keep my Dad and my Mom in your prayers and thoughts and I will be eternally grateful. You all are the best. Thank you for letting me ramble.

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Prayers for your Dad Mary Beth

I understand how it is as my Dad is in the same type of situation in NY and me in SC.