Advice on upgrade

I've been using a Lenni for about 1-1/2 years. I've completed about 6 quilts ranging from baby to queen sized. The original reason I purchased it was that I wanted to complete my quilts from piecing to quilting. I've enjoyed my Lenni, but I'm at the point that I'm looking for more. I'd like to have the option to using computerized quilting. I'm not even sure if APQS offers that feature on any of their long-arms. I've met a PFAFF dealer nearby and she's introduced me to the PFAFF Grand Quilter 18.8 and it seems so much robust to my Lenni. I realize that I'm comparing a more sophisticated machine that what I have, but I really like some of the features: ratched quilt advancing, really nice leaders, computerized quilting, etc. Since the dealer is geographically closer than my present APQS dealer, I feel that I would get more hands-on instruction. The price for the PFAFF is comparable to what I originally paid for the Lenni.

Any thoughts from anyone? Has anyone upgraded from an APQS to another brand?

Pauline L Lally

I am not sure that going to a pfaff from an apqs is really upgrading. there is alot to take into consideration when you consider the stitch quality of an apqs machine and the customer service that stands behind a terrific product. i live in an area where there are no reps of any kind and apqs is only a phone call away should i need assistance.

i purchased my apqs machine sight unseen and have never looked back! i test drove a friend's hq16 and knew it wasn't for me...i wanted more out of my longarm.

i for one did not like the ratchet type advance of other systems...the automatic feed advance is so nice.

yes, apqs machines can be retrofitted to computerized systems. the lenni can easily have the intelliquilter system added. send a u2u to angela (ahuffman) as she can better tell you about the iq on a lenni. :)

this is my opinion, and i used to work for a LQS as a rep for HQ