Do you get Quilt Depression? - you won't BELIEVE THIS!

Guest Linda S

Guest Linda S

It is cold, pouring rain and dreary here today, but the weather is not what is bothering me. I have had a customer quilt on the frame for two weeks now. It's just a panto, although a little more involved in lining up this particular design with the IQ. However, the quilt itself depresses me so much, I just haven't wanted to go up there and work on it. From a distance, it's actually quite pretty. Sort of a blended log cabin in all sorts of creams and tans. However, it has batik, flannel, and regular quilting cotton in it, much of it is hand-pieced, and it is not square anywhere. Quilts like this take me back to when I was a rank newbie and had no idea what I was doing. They suck the very joy of fabric and thread out of me. Does this happen to anyone else? I am determined that I will go up there now and finish it, and then I'm going to load some fun stuff and play with Sherry Rogers-Harrison's Inktense stuff for a while. I have got to get this quilt out of my life!!

Linda, I can relate.

At this very moment, I have a hand-pieced antique (80-100 years) crown of thorns that has many of the same problems you mentioned. I am custom quilting it and am on the very last part and even though my design is quite simple and shouldn't have taken long, due to the flaws in piecing, the fact that it was wadded up in a bag for who-knows-how many years and flared borders I have "quilt depression".

So I get it.

Here is what my DH said to me: You will finish it, it will be lovely, you will get paid and move on to the next quilt.

Keep your chin up!