Listening to tunes/books while you quilt

Do you listen to music or audiobooks or television while you are longarm quilting?  Or, nothing at all?   

I usually have the tv on in the background....but thought about listening to an audiobook.  I've never done that before, but it sounds like it would really be enjoyable.  Then I wonder if I'll be able to hear if someone rings the doorbell, phones, etc.  

What do you listen to, if anything...and how do you listen to it?  (loud stereo, ipod, earbuds...?_

ummm...I used to listen to music in my ancient "boom box" with my other set-up...worked just fine....also to audio books...good too unless you are really concentrating on the quilting...then may need to go back and re listen to the part of the book you missed while concentrating.  I haven't tried this yet with Lucey...hope I can still hear!  Lin

I too listen to audiobooks with ear buds and an iPod.  I can hear the phone ring, someone knocking on the door, etc. I can also still hear changes in the sound of the machine such as the noise mine makes when I am reaching the end of a bobbin.   Listening to a book makes the time fly by and as Sylvia said, I too think it helps my quilting!

I listen to music and once in a while I listen to the the tv. I do have to have the volume turned up. I don't hear th door bell when I am quilting anyway so I leave that to hubby, if he is not here I just don't worry about it. Friends and customers call before coming by anyway. I believe strongly, I quilt better to the "right" music for me!

I have wireless earphones to listen to the TV (or music channel) when my machines are running.  I can still hear the phone (I have one in the same room) and sometimes can hear family on the lower level from the loft.  I can keep my TV sound down and then the earphones at the level where I can hear the words clearly but not yelling in my ear.

Found my present set at Staples for 59.00